Thursday, 31 March 2011

Brian Kellock, Django Bates and Jim Hart have been nominated for musician of the year in this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards, one of the most prestigious set of jazz awards on the UK jazz calendar, while Bates also picks up a second nomination in the album of the year category, this time vying with John Turville, Norma Winstone and Tim Whitehead for the gong.

The awards, organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group and sponsored by music licensing company PPL and Jazz Services, feature nine categories with the winners set to be announced at a special reception at the House of Commons Terrace Pavilion on 17 May.

Over 1,600 online entry forms were received for the awards via the Jazz Services website and the shortlist was then voted upon by a selection panel drawn from all sections of the jazz community. The winners themselves are chosen by members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group in Parliament.

The complete list of nominations are: